In the tradition of Barbara Tuchman and Jonathan Spence, former veteran National Geographic staff writer Louise Levathes delivers a vivid, you-are-there. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne Louise Levathes, Author Simon & Schuster $23 (p) ISBN. When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, – By Louise Levathes. New York: Simon and Schuster, pp. $

Author: Gagis Kajora
Country: French Guiana
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Automotive
Published (Last): 24 October 2014
Pages: 137
PDF File Size: 4.88 Mb
ePub File Size: 14.14 Mb
ISBN: 519-4-54971-360-6
Downloads: 59211
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Tozuru

One change he made was to cut back on the voyages of the treasure fleet. The first Emperor of the Ming Dynasty was Zhu Yuanzhang who was greatly influenced by the teachings of Confucius who strongly opposed China’s entering into trade relations with foreign countries. When China Ruled the Seas: While giving lip-service to his father’s orders against trading with foreign nations, Zhu Di could not deny the potentially positive economics that strong trade relationships with other countries could bring to China.

But instead, China turned inward, as suceeding emperors forbade overseas travel and stopped all building and repair of oceangoing junks.

Chapter 10, The Last Voyage. Chapter 11, The Sultan’s Bride. Zhu Di enjoyed a lengthy reign and the treasure fleet ruled the seas during most of it. The largest wooden boats ever built, these extraordinary ships were the most technically superior vessels in the world with innovations such as balanced rudders and bulwarked compartments that predated European ships by centuries.

When China Ruled the Seas – Louise Levathes – Oxford University Press

In When China Ruled the SeasLouise Levathes takes a fascinating and unprecedented look at this dynamic period in China’s enigmatic history, focusing on China’s rise as a naval power that literally could have ruled the world and at its precipitious plunge into isolation when a new emperor lebathes the Dragon Throne.

Chapter 3, The Prisoner and the Prince.

Browse all BookRags Study Guides. First venturing out in the China Seas and reaching many strategic trading locations in Asia, the famous treasure fleet of the Ming Dynasty eventually voyaged as far as the African coast and the Middle East.

  LES CARLYON GALLIPOLI PDF

With over ships–some measuring as much as feet long and feet wide, with upwards of nine masts and twelve sails, and combined crews sometimes numbering over 28, men–the emperor Zhu Di’s fantastic levathee was a virtual floating city, a naval expression of his Forbidden City in Beijing.

During the Zhu Di’s declining years, he moved his capital to the newly constructed Forbidden City which caught fire soon after its completion. Chapter 4, The Treasure Fleet.

During the brief period from toseven dhen expeditions brought China’s “treasure ships” across the China Seas and the Indian Ocean, from Taiwan to the spice islands of Indonesia and the Malabar coast of India, on to the rich ports of the Persian Gulf and down the African coast, China’s “El Dorado,” and perhaps even to Australia, tne hundred years before Captain Cook was credited with its discovery.

Drawing on eye-witness accounts, official Ming histories, and African, Arab, and Indian sources, many translated for the first time, Levathes brings readers inside China’s most illustrious scientific and technological era.

When China Ruled the Seas: History Nonfiction Publication Details Publisher: Chapter 1, The Yi Peoples. Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford.

When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne 1405-1433

The largest wooden boats ever built, these extraordinary ships were the most technically superior vessels in the world with innovations such as balanced rudders and cjina compartments that predated European ships by centuries. China’s India War Bertil Lintner.

Half the world was in China’s grasp, and the rest could easily have been, had the emperor so wished.

She sheds new light on the historical and cultural context in which this great civilization thrived, as well as the perception of other cultures toward this little understood empire at the time. East Wind Tom Buchanan. It furthers the University’s objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education by publishing worldwide.

  BANZATTO E KRONKA PDF

More summaries and resources for teaching or studying When China Ruled the Seas: Chapter 2, Confucians and Curiosities. Epilogue, A People Called Baijini. There is archaeological evidence that the Yi people traveled as far as South and Central America. This section contains words approx. Chapter 2, Confucians and Curiosities. This study guide contains the following sections: Chapter 9, Fires in the Forbidden City. Beautifully illustrated and engagingly written, When China Ruled the Seas is the fullest picture yet of the early Ming dynasty—the last flowering of Chinese culture before the Manchu invasion.

Zhu Di proved to be farsighted, as China’s economy prospered and its prestige grew from the strong trade relations that were fostered with other countries. Levathes based her book on eyewitness accounts, official Ming historical documents, as well as on African, Arab and Indian resources.

When China Ruled the Seas: The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, Summary & Study Guide

The Treasure Fleet of the Dragon Throne, Open Road Distribution Publication Date: He saw to it that the fleet always had a supply of Chinese brass rulers, scales and other measuring devices as well as books on Leevathes and Buddhism to distribute in foreign lands.

Leaving for the Levzthes Sun Jiang Wu. It was a time of exploration and expansion, but it ended in a retrenchment so complete that less than a century later, it was a crime to go to sea in a multimasted ship.

View the Lesson Plans. Contemporary is lamic Law in Indonesia Arskal Salim.

Get When China Ruled the Seas: Further, they felt that trading weas other countries would be an admission that China was not self-sufficient and needed items from other countries in order to survive. Browse all BookRags Study Guides.